The hardest part

February 22, 2010

I knew when I started a blog the most difficult thing about it would be coming back to it and keeping it current. This had turned out to be the case. I think about it often, I have topics to explore, and yet, I’m still learning the discipline to sit down and write.

Since my  last post Anna and I have baked a strawberry rhubarb pie with mixed results. The crust from the Grand Central Book was excellent, but our filling wasn’t as good as I’d hoped. Here’s the lesson: don’t put frozen fruit into the middle of the pie and expect all to work out well. With peaches it works beautifully–not so with strawberries and rhubarb. What a gooey, watery mess it was.


I’ve also had the opportunity to work in the kitchen at Gathering Together Farm with J.C., one of the chefs. He’s an amazing guy–talented, humble, funny, sweet. I helped prepare food for the Montessori Auction (the annual fundraiser for Anna’s school) and made the biggest batch of hummous you’ve ever seen! I’m hoping he’ll let me back now that the farm is open for the season and he’s cooking for customers in real time.

In other news, I’ve hit some snags with regard to my application to OSU. I spent far too long it seems figuring out what I wanted to study and not enough time checking the details of the deadlines I needed to meet. I truly thought I was on track, but it turns out that I missed a major deadline for the English department. Not sure yet if they’ll let me in. Stay tuned.

Leave a comment