To fish–or not?

February 24, 2010

I’ve been thinking about food more than usual these days as Lent is upon us and I’m attempting to be more aware about what I consume. Observing Lent has offered the opportunity for me to consider once again my habits (or lack of them) with regard to eating fish. While I’ve ordered plenty of fish and chips in my day, and a blackened Caesar salad now and again, I have never cooked fish on my own. How does this happen you wonder? I’ve been living on my own for more than 20 years and I have never once cooked fish.
In my world buying fish, cooking fish, and then consuming the fish seems a rite of passage. Not to be taken lightly. So I’ve started by asking some trusted friends about where exactly to buy fish in the Corvallis area. Again, likely an obvious question as I’ve gotten a few strange looks, but part of the process nonetheless. Of the choices offered by said friends, I’ve opted for the fish market in Corvallis. Now I need a recipe, and a solid plan of attack. This Friday could be the day–my initiation into the world of cooking fish. I’ll keep you posted.
And speaking of keep you posted…the jury is still out on whether I’ll be a graduate student this fall or not. I managed to receive an exception from the English graduate committee and they’ll be reviewing my application in the next few weeks. So many hoops, so many uncertainties. Not sure I’m cut out for academic life after all!

Leave a comment