Fish on Friday

March 15, 2010

In my second week of experimenting with fish on Friday I bought Ahi Tuna steaks from Trader Joe’s (which unfortunately came from a faraway place). Again I read a few recipes and asked a few friends for some fish-cooking advice. In the reading I discovered that everyone likes this fish rare and many warned against cooking it all the way through. I’m not a rare meat kind of girl so decided to risk it and cook it well done.

I found a recipe for delightful marinade with lime juice, garlic, olive oil, honey and rice vinegar. I marinated the steaks for about two hours and then seared them in canola oil. Then I turned the heat down and let them cook until they were done all the way through.

Lucky for me they were a total hit with Anna. Aside from tater tots and plain noodles with butter this is the most of a dinner I’ve ever seen her eat. We liked them too, although once again I’m just not crazy for fish. I’m hoping I can get tuna from one of the fishing boats in Newport so we can have this again.

In other food news I took a few shots of Anna making pasta with Richard earlier in the week. This is usually a Thursday night affair as it’s the first night of the week where one of us doesn’t have something going on. It’s usually a fun project and Anna mysteriously transforms into “Hank” when it’s time to crank the pasta. Hank is exceptionally strong and an excellent pasta maker. Hank does all the cranking, Anna does the eating. It works out nicely.

Here’s the marinade recipe:

2 limes, juiced

1/4 cup olive oil

2 tbsp rice vinegar

2 cloves garlic, crushed and minced

1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger

1/4 cup honey

salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste

One Response to “Fish on Friday”

  1. Carmel Says:

    It sounds like an exceptionally yummy marinade.


Leave a comment